forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Hotkey for ENTER key

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> General Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:07 pm    Post subject: Hotkey for ENTER key Reply with quote

I have a program written in VDS5 that sets a Hotkey for the Enter key. This has always worked fine, but when I try to compile in VDS6, I get an error that:

HOTKEY add, testkey, Enter

is invalid.

Other key types (F1, F2, etc.) work fine - it seems that VDS6 just doesn't recognize the name of the Enter key. I also tried Return, CR(), and chr(13) with the same results.

Has anyone else run into this?

Joe

_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaveR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 413
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works fine here.

Code:

  DIALOG CREATE,Hotkey Test,-1,0,240,90
  DIALOG ADD,STYLE,STYLE1,,11,,,
  DIALOG ADD,TEXT,TEXT1,30,45,160,20,Press the Enter Key...,,STYLE1
  DIALOG SHOW
  HOTKEY add,testkey,Enter

:evloop
  wait event
  goto @event()

:hotkey
  if @equal(testkey,@hotkey())
    title Hotkey Result
    info Enter the Dragon!    ,
  end
  goto evloop

:close
  stop

_________________
cheers

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dave:

Are you running it in VDS6? When I run it as a VDS6 executable, I get a runtime error 14 at line 5 (where it adds the HOTKEY.)

If I run it as a VDS5 program, it runs fine.

_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaveR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 413
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes Joe, VDS 6 executable. Compiled std VDS 6 exe works as does running the code in the IDE etc.

Which runtime library are you using?
- 6.0.0.232 that came with the trial released on 25th Dec 2007
- 6.0.1.235 that comes with the pro version (dated 20th Jan 2008)
- Another version

What compiler options does your project have set? Execution level? Map file?
Code:
[Compiler]
Project Type=61
InfoVersion=0
Include Manifest=1
Execution Level=0
Create Map=0
EXEName=#Hotkey_test.exe


Do you have another application running that uses the Enter Hotkey? (may have nothing to do with the problem... )

_________________
cheers

Dave


Last edited by DaveR on Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It all looks the same as your settings, except I have the earlier version (I guess) of the vdsrun60.dll. I bought the full version, but mine is version 6.0.0.232. I wonder what the easiest way to upgrade is? Maybe I just entered my serial number, but never downloaded the pro version?
_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JerryDee
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the same problem Sad - when my laptop crashed I found probably only some older version with this number of DLL. I've sent two times an email to Emmanuel, but he didn't reply so far. I hope he'll do it.
_________________
Jerry
(VDS 4,5,6 Pro | V-Setup 3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I emailed VDS as well, but no response.

I know people are sensitive about this type of thing, but can't someone else just send us the vdsrun60.dll file? It is freely redistributable. Obviously any user of a program you wrote would have it.

Anyone?

_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaveR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 413
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwfv wrote:
Yes, I emailed VDS as well, but no response.

I know people are sensitive about this type of thing, but can't someone else just send us the vdsrun60.dll file? It is freely redistributable. Obviously any user of a program you wrote would have it.

Anyone?

I agree. It is freely redistributable.

When releasing small programs authors often release them without the runtime library - so that people on dialup who already have the library don't waste their bandwidth downloading it again (though VDS runtime libraries aren't as big as VB etc.). Obviously they then need to provide a way for first time users of VDS programs to download the required vdsrun dll.

BTW does anyone know what has changed between the v5.0.2.120 vdsrun50.dll and the v5.1.0.124 that comes with VDS 6? Bug fixes?

_________________
cheers

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JerryDee
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys Very Happy

I just obtained (from one kind friend) that newer DLL, but unfortunately, it didn't solve the whole problem in my case. Evidently I'll need the all program packing from VDS.

_________________
Jerry
(VDS 4,5,6 Pro | V-Setup 3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The correct vdsrun60.dll DID solve my problem, I am very glad to say -

Joe

_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JerryDee
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the beginning of this year, I downloaded the Pro 6 version two times. The first time I backed up it on CD. Than I found out it was faulty. Emmanuel arranged for me that I could download another release of program which ran right. That version I probably didn't back up Embarassed .
Can you see at version number of your exe-file, please?
Here is mine:
vds.exe - file version 6.0.0.199
- product ver. 6.0

_________________
Jerry
(VDS 4,5,6 Pro | V-Setup 3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is the same version number of vds.exe that I have.
_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JerryDee
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 53
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmmmmmmmm and can you tell me - you work on Vista?
_________________
Jerry
(VDS 4,5,6 Pro | V-Setup 3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope - XP Pro SP3
_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaveR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 03 Sep 2005
Posts: 413
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JerryDee wrote:
At the beginning of this year, I downloaded the Pro 6 version

All my VDS6 files have a modifed date of 20th Jan 2008. Though the digital signature is dated 21st Jan 2008. Obviously Emmanuel 'touched' the files to make the date and time the same on all files... but when exactly this was done is not known. Maybe sometime after you had downloaded yours.

JerryDee wrote:

Can you see at version number of your exe-file, please?
Here is mine:
vds.exe - file version 6.0.0.199
- product ver. 6.0

Same as my vdsrun60.dll

vds.exe - file version 6.0.1.235
- product ver. 6.0

And XP Pro SP3

_________________
cheers

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> General Help All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group