forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Site/Forum Integration
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> News/Announcements
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 5:32 pm    Post subject: Site/Forum Integration Reply with quote

As you may have noticed, there is now a side bar on this forum with
VDSWORLD's main navigations links. This is one step in a series to
help make the main site more integrated with the forum. For quite
a long time I think many people have considered the forum as the
whole site. We'd like to be sure everyone has easy access to the
other parts of the site.

What do you all think? Would it be better to include a close button?

_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2144
Location: A House

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't like it at all. It doesn't look good for one thing and another thing
is that it messes up the width of the forum itself. Makes it hard to see
messages where it goes off to the right. And I'm running at 1024x768,
so I can imagine what somone at 800x600 is going through.

-Garrett

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PGWARE
Web Host


Joined: 29 Dec 2001
Posts: 1537

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm with Garrett on this one, sure it's a nice idea but when implemented it makes viewing the forum very difficult. I'm runing 1024x768 as well and it' makes reading long posts difficult and even requires scrolling at times. Maybe create a popup window panel instead of having it integrated on the side?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think adding a strip to the bottom as to what is new/hot on the main site would be laest intrusive and also stimulates people click and see. (link should take to a page rather than a file etc.)

Regards

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK You're all very right. To tell you the truth I didn't really like it
either. I think a very small set of links at the bottom or top would
be better, like CodeScript mentioned.

Thanks for your feedback, it was a bad idea to start with.

_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I've put up a bar at the top. It's a whole lot less intrusive
than the other. I didn't think of this idea the first time, it was an
experiment, it was kind of bad the first time, but it's better now
I think.

What does everybody else think?

_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FreezingFire wrote:
OK I've put up a bar at the top.


I can't see ?? Confused
Does it depend on screen resolution ? I am on 800x600

Regards

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vdsalchemist
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Oct 2001
Posts: 1448
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey FF,
Can you make it so that when we click on the bar at the top it opens a new browser window? This way we don't lose our spot in the forum?

_________________
Home of

Give VDS a new purpose!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2144
Location: A House

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can see the bar, but it's not tall enough to see the links. I can just
barely make out some of the top of the texts of the links, but not
enough to know which link is which.

-Garrett

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Protected
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 02 Jan 2001
Posts: 228
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see the bar, it looks ok, i like it, not intrusive at all, much better than the side bar, works good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you elaborate about the links not visible problem? I've tested
with both 800 x 600 and 1024 x 768 and there was no problem.

If you can't see the whole row of links you should maximize your
browser window. I don't think a scrollbar for that would look good.

I will set it so it opens a new browser window. You could also just
use your back button though. Sometimes new windows are blocked
by popup killers.

If I get some more information on the links not visible problem or
possibly even a screenshot I'll do my best to fix it.

Thanks. Smile

_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2144
Location: A House

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the line below for the bar frame:

Code:
body background="back.gif" bgcolor="#ffffff" MARGINHEIGHT="1" MARGINWIDTH="1" TOPMARGIN="1" BOTTOMMARGIN="1" LEFTMARGIN="1" RIGHTMARGIN="1"


Mozilla is not as forgiving as MSIE is with regards to leaving tags out and
such.

-Garrett

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi ff,

i don't see any bar at the top...could you perhaps do a screen dump so i can see where i am supposed to see the bar...

ta

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I already said above I can't see any either Sad . I sent a screen shot to FF also. May be related to web caching/cookies ??
_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Skit3000
Admin Team


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 2166
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2003 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CodeScript and others who can't view the topbar, be sure to load http://forum.vdsworld.com/. When loading the index.php file, the frame page isn't loaded.
_________________
[ Add autocomplete functionality to your VDS IDE windows! ]
Voor Nederlandse beginners met VDS: bekijk ook eens deze tutorial!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> News/Announcements All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group