forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Enhanced Menu DSU
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Visual DialogScript 5 Units
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

excellent work codescript...how do you come up with these little gems??!?!?

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Serge wrote:
how do you come up with these little gems??!?!?

I was looking at something else - adding additional data to the menu. I came across a discussion about solid color menu then I loooked into W32 API reference to find all the possibilities.

Marty wrote:
Just cant seem to run the thing here.. Will check why this weekend..

Hi Marty
What errors are you exactly getting ?
Normal or popup menus ?
On what OS ?
I think you should add Option Decimalsep, "." at the top most likely.

Nice to know you all liked it. Very Happy
I was thinking of adding ability to create submenus to the DSU but currently I don't have so much freetime. So may be sometime later.

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anything else is welcome but you don't have to rush. Very Happy
_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi FreezingFire
It seems you make your computer to hurry up things as much
as your P-4 Logo changes :wink

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CodeScript wrote:
Hi FreezingFire
It seems you make your computer to hurry up things as much
as your P-4 Logo changes :wink


I decided I should change my avatar since I've had it the same for
over a year... I just don't know what to make it... Smile

_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

codescript,

could you do the same thing for the interface of a program ie. change the colour, add a background image...?

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Serge wrote:
could you do the same thing for the interface of a program ie. change the colour

I didn't fully understand but if you mean background of the dialog then use COLRDLG option in VDS 5 as I have done in the example
Serge wrote:
add a background image...?

As for patterns and images I doubt if this can be done without a dll as you need a memory DC and fast drawing capabilities on events like paint resize restore etc.
I will have a look.

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was after being able to do to the dialog background what you have been able to do with the menu...is that possible?

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Couldn't you just drop a BITMAP element on the back of your dialog? Smile
_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah that is the best solution but the bitmap size may be large for bigger dialogs.
I think Serge is talking about tiling a small bitmap all over the dialog
like e.g a logo etc as is commonly done in advanced programming languages and in this example.
I have updtaed the DSU
Added the ability to set background pattern and image for dialog too but this works on Win 2k+ only and has some limitations - No transparency has some flicker. It was more of experimentation drawing directly over VDS dialog Wink (details in the help file)
Let me know if it works Confused
Enjoy!

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2144
Location: A House

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiling the dialog isn't that hard really. Just make sure you do it before
you use DIALOG SHOW.

-Garrett

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1054
Location: India

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2003 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Garrett I didn't get. Is it tiling using the DSU(unlikely ?) or some other method ?
Does the DSU bckgrnd part work on Win ME ?

EDIT:
I think U R talking of just adding multiple instances of same bitmap to the dialog before "Dialog SHOW" ?
The only problem is if the display is different resoultion etc. So one has to account for that too. (I don't know if Option Scale helps here ?)

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2003 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was after a quick way to change the background colours and bitmaps for dialogs using api's...i know that bitmap backgrounds can be set and changed readily...but tiling??? how would you do that? and can it be changed on the fly (ie. while the dialog is showing)?

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2003 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it's not quite the best work around but you could set the image
tiled as the user's desktop while your program is running and then
use the example CodeScript posted to show the desktop as your
dialog background. Smile

_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2003 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just used the COLOR option for creating dialogs and wow...it's so cool! i used to use a text element and colour that...and what a hassle that was...this color option is great!!!

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Visual DialogScript 5 Units All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum




Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group