forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


VDS5: MOUSEOVER Gets Stuck
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2149
Location: A House

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 9:26 pm    Post subject: VDS5: MOUSEOVER Gets Stuck Reply with quote

Has anyone else run into a problem when using MOUSEOVER on bmp
images, where when you run your mouse over and change the image
on ENTER and LEAVE, and eventually it gets stuck?

I've encountered this on several projects and have stopped work on
these projects due to this. I don't want to run a timer loop and track
the mouse since that takes up more resources and cpu than using the
MOUSEOVER style.

I'm attaching my current project here to see if anyone else can get the
mouseover to stick also.

Download it, run it and then just run your mouse around the interface
over the buttons for a while and watch as buttons eventually get stuck
in the OVER position. They are still clickable, but ENTER and LEAVE
branches are ignored once it's stuck.

Can anyone else with VDS 5 give this a try and see if it does stick on
them or not?

Thanks,
-Garrett



mouseoversticking.zip
 Description:
Current project I'm working on and running into the mouseover sticking issue. Please do not use these files for your own use without permission from me first. This is only to allow others to see if they encounter the issue.

Download
 Filename:  mouseoversticking.zip
 Filesize:  205.31 KB
 Downloaded:  899 Time(s)


_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hooligan
VDS Developer
VDS Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2003
Posts: 479
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's bizzare! I could get it to happen to six of the seven buttons... (But there was always one button left over that just wouldn't "fail"...) I tried several things, but couldn't correct it... I have a program I wrote that uses mouseover in a similar fashion... I'll have to go check it out!

Hooligan

_________________
Hooligan

Why be normal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreezingFire
Admin Team


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 3508

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually that kind of thing has happened to me before -- and I also find
that after mousing over several times, the change gets really slow and
when you click on the button it takes a long time to respond. Not sure
what's the cause. Confused

_________________
FreezingFire
VDSWORLD.com
Site Admin Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone ever had this happen on a MOUSEOVER-enabled BitBtn? I have a program with a couple of those, but have never noticed it.

I also had the problem with the program above.

_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PGWARE
Web Host


Joined: 29 Dec 2001
Posts: 1544

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting ERROR 37's when I compile your script and test it. That is because the exe is not able to locate the #btn6b.bmp and other simliar files when you scroll over the images. The only images that seem to be added into th exe are all the btn*a.bmp images from looking at the compiler status window.

I don't see anywhere in your code any #RESOURCE directives to tell the compiler to include the images into the exectuables. This could potentially be one of the problems you are encountering...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2149
Location: A House

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, the images were not set yet to be included as resources. Hadn't got
to that point since I was too busy getting PO'd with the mouse over getting
stuck on me Sad

I have another program that is complete, and it suffers from the same
issue. Sad

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi garrett,

i came across this problem earlier in the year when i worked on my >International Time program where the bmp images would only show the MOUSEOVER messages when they wanted to - i did not find out why nor did i seek a work around Sad

i did find it very annoying and disappointing that the MOUSEOVER feature did not work reliably

serge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the problem is that these mouse messages can get lost. Probably they are sent to the application using PostMessage instead of SendMessage so there is no guarantee that they are received.

I experienced the same problem implementing the VDS BITBTN element. Buttons didn't always receive all the mouse events and could get stuck in the wrong position. I had to work around this by including in the WAIT command processing routine some code that checked, if a button wasn't in its default state, whether the cursor was still over it.

Because of that, VDS BITBTNs usually work, but you've probably noticed that buttons in the IDE sometimes get stuck, I guess for the same reason.

_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should add to this that it probably depends on what you are doing. When testing the MOUSEOVER feature, I didn't notice any events going missing. But if you are trying to load bitmaps when they occur, some graphics cards disable interrupts during some graphics operations in order to achieve better graphics benchmark results. This is likely to cause a loss of some window messages.
_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way, Garrett, I tested your program moving the mouse rapidly over the buttons like no sane person would do and it worked perfectly, although the mouse events queued up and would continue to run for a couple of seconds after I stopped moving the mouse. The IDE "Run" button stuck down once, though. Smile

I'm running Windows XP SP2 / Celeron 2600MHz / 256MB RAM.

_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Skit3000
Admin Team


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 2166
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here, the images stopped responding as well... Sad

I'm running Windows XP SP2 / Pentium 4, 2.53 MHz / 256 MB / GeForce 4 MX 440...

_________________
[ Add autocomplete functionality to your VDS IDE windows! ]
Voor Nederlandse beginners met VDS: bekijk ook eens deze tutorial!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting. I was wondering whether it would turn out to be the people running Windows 9x who had the problem.

The display adapter here is an integrated SiS 661FX chipset.

_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2149
Location: A House

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had this happen on 98SE, ME and XP SP2, different mother boards,
and using various different video adapters, from old ISA cards, PCI
cards to AGP cards. And varied quality within all three types of cards
used, and using memory from 2 mb on up to 64 mb.

I would love for this to work, as I really do not want to run a WAIT, 0
and :TIMER loop to do this. This would suck up CPU cycles that I'd like
to try and avoid. Sure, on a 2.2 Mhz CPU and above it's like no big
deal, but I still prefer to allow older CPU models to be able to run my
programs.

I guess I have no choice for now but to use a :TIMER loop. Sad

Thanks everyone for at least confirming that I'm not the only one with
this problem.

-Garrett

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you have to resolve this the same way I had to do it for the VDS BITBTNs.

Don't just rely on the mouse messages. Use a variable to record what button is down. When you receive any mouse down event, check this variable to see if another button is already down, and if it is, execute the button up code for that button.

_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2149
Location: A House

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once the mouseover gets stucking using the bitmap element, it's stuck
for good. So even if I did process a checking routine on any event, the
mouseover won't work anymore for the image that the mouseover is
stuck. I'd try bitbtn, but unfortunately the interface I designed won't
work too well with that. It would really destroy the effect I was trying
for.

The old :TIMER and WAIT, 0 event loop processing will work and be
faithful and I won't have this problem, was just trying to keep the
resources down as low as possible.

-Garrett

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group