forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


VDS Playing up on WINXP SP2 anyone else have similar problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xearo
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:37 am    Post subject: VDS Playing up on WINXP SP2 anyone else have similar problem Reply with quote

Hello

i am running a P4 2.8gig comp with 512meg of ram using VDS 5.02 registered for personal use

i have made a program and am having some real weird problems

lets say that i have an expression

Code:
   
IF @FILE(%Ptestrun.txt)
 %y = @ask(Would you like to overwrite the previous run?)
  if @ok()
   goto dosomethingelse
   else
   goto evloop
 end
end


when the dialog box pop's up asking the question about .5 of a second later it automatically enters the default answer

so it is as if someone is sitting in front of the computer continuely pressing enter

now if i create a new file and simply enter only that portion fo code and run it, everything runs as it should, but as soon as i enter it into my script it goes spastic again.

there is nothing before or after this event which can possible be causing this error
Code:

LIST CREATE, 1, SORTED
  LIST CREATE, 2, SORTED
  LIST CREATE, 3, SORTED
  LIST CREATE, 4, SORTED
  LIST CREATE, 5, SORTED
  LIST CREATE, 6, SORTED
  LIST CREATE, 7, SORTED
  DIALOG SHOW
    IF @FILE(%Ptestrun.txt)
  %y = @ask(Would you like to overwrite the previous run?)
   if @ok()
    goto runit
 else
  goto evloop
  end
end
  LIST LOADTEXT,LIST1
"blah blah blah
"blah blah blah
"blah blah blah program is run.
  goto evloop


anyone encountered the same issue ??
or anyone know of a workaround
it is very annoying

Ta Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CodeScript
Moderator Team


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 1060
Location: India

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tested your code here on XP with SP2 and it runs fine. The ask message box doesn't dissapear until user cliks OK.
So U need to cheack something else either in your code or another app possibly running in the background.

_________________
Regards
- CodeScript
Arrow Give your application a professional look with the VDSGUI Extension
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your first problem sounds like a debugging issue to see what is going on

i suggest that you click on the grey bar at the left of your code to "enter" a "B" - this will cause your script to pause whenever it gets there

and then you can click on the || (i think) to continue with your code one line at a time

this should help you see what is really happening around that area of your code

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
GeoTrail
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 572
Location: Bergen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it's not a problem with either VDS or SP2.
Most likely explenation is that you have used a program, or a program has changed some settings related to popups. There are also some popup killers that mistakes msg dialogs as windows and kills them such as Pop-Up Stopper Pro and SurfPal.

Check the settings in your popup killers if you have any Smile

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
xearo
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off thanx for everyone's opion Thumbs Up

now i decided to do a clean install of VDS because i was getting very frustated Stupid

everything works as is should now

just for your info i do not have any popup blockers running except for one which is built into the browser i use (Firefox 1 preview release)

the only other 3rd party software i run would be McAffe Security Centre
and Thunderbird for my e-mail

otherwise this is a clean machine (actually is my work computer)

one day it worked & the next it didn't =P

but anyway problem has been solved by doing a clean install of VDS (wiping all exisiting VDS files & DLL files then re-installing vds 5.02)

thanx everything for there contribution!




Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi xearo,

glad to see you worked it out Smile

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group