forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Anyway to know the CPU frequency (speed)?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> General Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
marty
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 10 May 2001
Posts: 789

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:26 pm    Post subject: Anyway to know the CPU frequency (speed)? Reply with quote

Hi,

Is there a way to get the CPU frequency (speed) easily?

I want to have my app to use certain features depending on the CPU speed

Ex:

info @cpu()

would result

900 MHZ

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
filip
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This works with WinME, 2000 and XP

@regread(LOCAL,Hardware\Description\System\CentralProcessor\0,~MHz) Mhz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
marty
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 10 May 2001
Posts: 789

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks flip.. I will need to try with 98.. I need this espacially for that Windows version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Aslan
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 31 May 2001
Posts: 589
Location: Memphis, TN USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is one of the registry keys that don't seem to always exist that I was talking about in another post: http://www.vdsworld.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3373

I administrate 900+ systems and only about 70% of them have this key.

I was hoping that maybe there was an API solution for this and other hardware resouces.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out http://www.panopsys.com/. At that price, my guess is that there isn't an API option.

But curiously, the freeware CPU-Z utility uses it.

_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a Zip file containing C and assembler source code of utilities to detect the type and speed of a CPU. However, it's extremely old, and would require updating to be able to detect newer processors.


CPU.ZIP
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  CPU.ZIP
 Filesize:  34.62 KB
 Downloaded:  1124 Time(s)


_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
filip
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Directx 8+ set this value for it self so if there is latest DX this will work
definitely

@regread(LOCAL,Hardware\Description\System\CentralProcessor\0,~MHz)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
marty
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 10 May 2001
Posts: 789

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks jules Wink Will check it ..

And flip its good to know that you need DirectX..

I will investigate this more Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
marty
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 10 May 2001
Posts: 789

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well your CPU thing Jules is excellent Smile

Could others try on the system the CPU.EXE thats included in Jules ZIP file and tell me if it returns the good CPU frequency on your system?

On my it returned 2617 MHZ for my P4 2.8

Which is ok..

If results are good I will use this tool... I will look at the source to see if its possible to convert this to VDS using a windows api.. C code...wooo.. my.. Laughing

Thanks in advance..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
PGWARE
Web Host


Joined: 29 Dec 2001
Posts: 1562

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Returned 153 Mhz which is very incorrect Smile

My actual cpu is Intel Pentium Mobile 1.60 Ghz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PGWARE
Web Host


Joined: 29 Dec 2001
Posts: 1562

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running it again it now says I have 2618 MHz, giving me almost 1 GHz extra cpu power, only if that were true.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PGWARE wrote:
Running it again it now says I have 2618 MHz, giving me almost 1 GHz extra cpu power, only if that were true.


It probably doesn't understand processors with power management, which can run at lower speeds to save power. The high speed is probably because the newer processors take fewer instruction cycles to execute the timing loops than the ones the code was calibrated against.

I think for the newer CPUs the way to find out what they are is use the special instructions that ask the processor what it is. This stuff always used to be documented on the Intel website.

_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dr. Dread
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2001
Posts: 1065
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a DLL structure for gathering CPU info - could do something bout it, I guess. Dunno how reliable it
is for different kinds of CPU - works on my 'puters though.

Greetz
Dread

_________________
~~ Alcohol and calculus don't mix... Don't drink and derive! ~~

String.DLL * advanced string processing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marty
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 10 May 2001
Posts: 789

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I guess this cpu thing is not very good Sad Anyway Dread if you could beta release you DLL so that people can test it out that would be great Wink

Thanks for the others for trying the CPU.exe Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Dr. Dread
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2001
Posts: 1065
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Righto. Beta version of SeePU.dll available here:

http://www.vdsworld.com/download.php?id=464

Greetz
Dread

_________________
~~ Alcohol and calculus don't mix... Don't drink and derive! ~~

String.DLL * advanced string processing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> General Help All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group