forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


VDS forum - copy, format, and save
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Visual DialogScript 3 Source Code
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dr. Dread
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2001
Posts: 1065
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2002 5:25 pm    Post subject: VDS forum - copy, format, and save Reply with quote

This one is kind of a plug-in for Internet Explorer. I got a little tired of two things when copying code off
this forum:
First, I got all sorts of page formating drowning the code so I had to pass it through a text editor
before insertion in the VDS editor.
Secondly, all lines ended off with a blank, sometimes keeping the code from running properly
until I had spotted those darn lines that needed a trimming of blanks.

First of all - compile the script to an EXE. Tip: Give it a nice short and descriptive name.
Drag the EXE from Explorer (or any file manager) to your browser's (prolly only works in MSIE) hyperlinks bar.
You should now have a nice browser button with your filename on it. You may rename it (right-click the button)
to fine tune the button text

Operation:
First off - click the button once (with no selection made in your browser) to
choose your preferences:
1. Format and copy to clipboard or 2. Format and save as a VDS script file.
Go on now - surf that VDS forum - select code snippets that you wanna check out and use the
button to make it nice VDS compatible.

Have phun!
Dr. Dread

Code:

  title VDS Code Copier    ..by Dr. Dread
  option SCALE,96
  option DECIMALSEP,"."
  %w = @winactive(I)
  gosub CheckINI
  %%inc = 0
  list create,1
  rem Flush the clipboard to be able to check if something new is copied to it
  clipboard CLEAR
  gosub ACQUIRE

rem Check if nothing was copied (no selection in browser window)
:Evaluate
  if @null(@text(1))
    rem Clipboard was empty - we wait for data (unless we already did)
    if @equal(%%wait,%%inc)
      goto getdialog
    end
    wait .2
    list paste,1
    %%inc = @succ(%%inc)
    goto Evaluate
  else
    goto RunIt
  end

:getdialog
  dialog CREATE,VDS Code Copier  .. by Dr. Dread,-1,0,230,115,SMALLCAP,ONTOP
  dialog ADD,STYLE,STYLE1,,,,BLACK,BLACK
  dialog ADD,STYLE,STYLE2,Arial,8,B,
  dialog ADD,STYLE,STYLE3,,6,,,LTBLUE
  dialog ADD,TEXT,text1,3,6,,,No selection currently made in browser,STYLE2
  dialog ADD,RADIO,set1,20,2,226,,How to handle selections:,1. Format and copy to clipboard|2. Save selection as .dsc file and open it,%%setradio
  dialog ADD,BUTTON,Info,97,4,16,16,?,STYLE2
  dialog ADD,BUTTON,Settings,94,188,40,20,Save,DEFAULT
  dialog ADD,BUTTON,Cancel,94,140,45,20,Cancel
  dialog ADD,TEXT,text2,98,30,,,VDSWORLD Forum,style3,CLICK
  dialog ADD,TEXT,text3,76,12,,,Wait for clipboard max (1/5 secs):
  dialog ADD,EDIT,wait,75,174,22,16,%%wait
  dialog SHOW

:Evloop
  wait event
  goto @event()

:InfoBUTTON
  %h = " How to use:"@cr()@cr()
  %h = %h First of all - compile the script to an EXE.@cr()
  %h = %h Tip: Give it a nice short and descriptive name like @CHR(34)VDScopy@CHR(34).@cr()
  %h = %h Drag the EXE from Explorer (or any file manager) to your browser's Links toolbar.@cr()
  %h = %h You should now have a nice browser button with your filename on it@cr()
  %h = %h You may rename it (right-click the button) to fine tune the button text@cr()@cr()@cr()
  %h = %h Operation:@cr()@cr()
  %h = %h First off - click the button once (with no selection made in your browser) to@cr()
  %h = %h @tab()choose your preferences: 1. Format and copy to clipboard or 2. Format and@cr()
  %h = %h @tab()save as a VDS script file. Set the maximum time to wait for the Clipboard@cr()
  %h = %h Go on now - surf that VDS forum - select code snippets that you wanna check out@cr()
  %h = %h @tab()and use the button to make it nicely VDS compatible.@cr()
  %h = %h If you want to alter the program settings"," then hit the button without making any@cr()
  %h = %h @tab()text selection in your browser.@cr()@cr()
  %h = %h Greetz@cr()@cr()
  %h = %h Dr. Dread@cr()
  info %h
  dialog focus,Settings
  goto evloop

:SettingsBUTTON
  rem Save preferences in INI
  inifile OPEN,@path(%0)VDScopy.ini
  %%radiovalue = @substr(@dlg(set1),1,2)
  if @equal(@dlgtext(wait),0)
    info The 'Wait for Clipboard' value should be greater than 0
    goto evloop
  end
  if @not(@numeric(@dlgtext(wait)))
    info The 'Wait for Clipboard' value must be numeric
    goto evloop
  end
  if @equal(%%radiovalue,1.)
    inifile WRITE,Section1,choice1,clipboard
  else
    inifile WRITE,Section1,choice1,file
  end
  inifile WRITE,Section1,wait,@dlgtext(wait)
  goto CLOSE

:CancelBUTTON
  goto CLOSE

:Text2CLICK
  shell open,http://www.vdsworld.com/forum/
  wait .2
  goto CLOSE

:RunIt
  list create,2
  rem Format lines so trailing spaces are removed
  repeat
    %%line = @next(1)
    list add,2,@strdel(@trim(@strins(%%line,1,)),1)
  until @equal(@index(1),@count(1))
  rem Perform whatever was decided in Settings
  if @equal(%%choice1,clipboard)
    list copy,2
  else
    rem Create dummy dialog to get a file dialog
    dialog CREATE,VDS save code,-1,0,1,1,ONTOP,NOTITLE,class "Save as"
    dialog show
    window ACTIVATE,"VDS save code"
    %%saveas = @filedlg("Script file (*.dsc)|*.dsc",Save script)
    if %%saveas
      if @equal(@ext(%%saveas),dsc)
        list savefile,2,%%saveas
      else
        %%saveas = %%saveas"."dsc
        list savefile,2,%%saveas
      end
    end
    rem Open resulting file
    wait .5
    if @file(%%saveas)
      shell open,%%saveas
    end
  end
  list close,1
  list close,2

:CLOSE
  stop

rem ################## SUBs ###################

:ACQUIRE
  rem Get selected text from browser
  window SEND,%W,@CTRL(C)
  wait .5
  list paste,1
  wait .1
EXIT

:CheckINI
  if @file(@path(%0)VDScopy.ini)
    inifile OPEN,@path(%0)VDScopy.ini
    %%choice1 = @INIREAD(Section1,choice1,clipboard)
    %%wait = @INIREAD(Section1,wait,5)
   if @null(%%wait)
     %%wait = 5
   end
  else
    %%choice1 = clipboard
    list create,1
    list add,1,[Section1]
    list add,1,choice1=clipboard
    list add,1,wait=5
    list savefile,1,@path(%0)VDScopy.ini
    list close,1
  end
  if @equal(%%choice1,clipboard)
    %%setradio = 1. Format and copy to clipboard
  else
    %%setradio = 2. Save selection as .dsc file and open it
  end
EXIT


EDIT: A couple of minor adjustments. On the Settings dialog added a Cancel button and a link
to VDSWORLD.

EDIT2: Another few small changes. First and foremost an extra wait loop to check if nothing is actually copied from the browser
or the system just lags a bit.

EDIT3: Added the possibility of adjusting the maximum time (in 1/5 secs) that the app will wait for the clipboard to be filled.

EDIT4: More flexible line trimming - based on a trim-right idea from Tommy.

EDIT5: Check for a Settings value that could put the prog in an endless loop. The 'Wait for Clipboard' part now works better.

EDIT6: Put in some extra checks to protect against users putting illegal values into settings.

EDIT7: Bugfix. If first line in selected text was empty, the program would assume nothing was copied to the Clipboard.

_________________
~~ Alcohol and calculus don't mix... Don't drink and derive! ~~

String.DLL * advanced string processing


Last edited by Dr. Dread on Mon Feb 17, 2003 1:00 pm; edited 14 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2144
Location: A House

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2002 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent! Works fine for me here and I made an icon for it that looks
pretty good when on the toolbar.

http://www.vdsworld.com/~garrett/VDSCopy.ico



As I said, looks fine on the toolbar, but not at full 32x32 viewing like
pictured above, only when it's in it's 16x16 state on the toolbar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr. Dread
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2001
Posts: 1065
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great! That's a good icon, Garrett. Looks nice sittin' on the toolbar Smile

Made a couple of adjustments to the program

Greetz
Dread

_________________
~~ Alcohol and calculus don't mix... Don't drink and derive! ~~

String.DLL * advanced string processing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mac
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 08 Jul 2000
Posts: 1585
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice job Dread,

Unfortunately, I can't drag anything onto my IE4 toolbar,
so I "borrowed" your idea and made a front-end for VDS
instead. Not as fancy as yours though, it only formats the
clipboard info.

This replaces the VDS shortcut on my desktop. It loads
VDS, then runs as a tiny window (48x18) in the upper
left corner of the screen, and closes when VDS does
(or it can be closed separately).

To use it as a front-end, replace the VDS path in the top
line with your own. Otherwise, remove the top line.

Instructions:
1. Copy code from VDSworld.
2. Press the "Clip" button.
3. Paste to the VDS editor.
Code:

SHELL OPEN, "E:\WINAPPS\VDS30\VDS.exe"
OPTION SCALE, 96
OPTION DECIMALSEP, "."
TITLE By Mac
DIALOG CREATE,"VDSworld Copy",0,0,48,18,NOTITLE,ONTOP
  DIALOG ADD,BUTTON,Exit,0,30,18,18,"x"
  DIALOG ADD,BUTTON,Clip,0,0,30,18
DIALOG SHOW
LIST CREATE, 1

:EVLOOP
  WAIT EVENT, 1
  goto @event()

:TIMER
  if @not(@winexists("Visual DialogScript"))
     goto CLOSE
  end
  goto EVLOOP

:ClipBUTTON
  LIST PASTE, 1
  WAIT
  if @greater(@count(1), 0)
     %x = 0
     REPEAT
       %s = @item(1, %x)
       if @equal(@substr(%s, @len(%s)), " ")
          LIST PUT, 1, @substr(%s, 1, @pred(@len(%s)))
       end
       %x = @succ(%x)
     UNTIL @equal(%x, @count(1))
  LIST COPY, 1
  LIST CLEAR, 1
  goto EVLOOP

:ExitBUTTON
:CLOSE
  EXIT

Cheers, Mac

_________________
VDSug.dll does file IO, check/disable menu items,
non-VDS dlls, draw functions and more...
Free download (30k dll size) at:
http://www.vdsworld.com/download.php?id=361
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dr. Dread
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2001
Posts: 1065
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mac wrote:
Unfortunately, I can't drag anything onto my IE4 toolbar,
so I "borrowed" your idea and made a front-end for VDS
instead.


Hi, Mac!

Yeah, I thought that there might be difficulties in some browsers. I have MSIE 5 + 6, and the toolbar button
works fine there. However, the button can only be placed on the Hyperlinks/Links toolbar, not in the
general toolbar containing the Back/Forward/Home buttons etc. I don't know about MSIE 4.

Actually, the program was at first more like yours - a little resident box dialog, but then I decided for the
"hit and run" approach which is only loaded when needed and then immediately exits.

Greetz
Dr. Dread

PS: I checked out your little app, works fine here. But if someone has placed VDS elsewhere than "E:\WINAPPS\VDS30\VDS.exe" Wink , this might be handy:

Code:

%%reg = @REGREAD(ROOT,Applications\VDS.EXE\shell\open\command,)
option fieldsep," "
parse "%%VDS;%%var",%%reg
REM Here is VDS.exe:
info %%VDS


[/code]

_________________
~~ Alcohol and calculus don't mix... Don't drink and derive! ~~

String.DLL * advanced string processing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mac
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 08 Jul 2000
Posts: 1585
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Dread, Smile

I have the HKEY_CLASS_ROOT\Applications key,
but no VDS subkey... 8O

I thought about trying @regread() for the VDS path,
but assumed it's different for different versions, or
might load the wrong one if someone had both VDS3
and VDS4.

BTW, I mentioned changing the path in my post... Wink

I also compiled a copy without the top line and put it
in the VDS\Tools folder so I can start it from VDS
(without starting VDS again).

Cheers, Mac Smile

_________________
VDSug.dll does file IO, check/disable menu items,
non-VDS dlls, draw functions and more...
Free download (30k dll size) at:
http://www.vdsworld.com/download.php?id=361
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dr. Dread
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2001
Posts: 1065
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mac wrote:

I have the HKEY_CLASS_ROOT\Applications key,
but no VDS subkey... 8O


Hmmm. Sh.t happens. (he-he, you know you cannot write this little sh.. word in full on this board, or you'll have
"Ooops happens" Laughing I think our webmaster wants us to be well-behaved and mind our language Cool

Do you have ?:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Applications\VDS.EXE\shell\open\command

Even on different platforms, the VDS installation must have some reg key to determine this.

Mac wrote:
BTW, I mentioned changing the path in my post... Wink


Yup. I saw it, and even understood it Wink But I just love code that is really portable so I can move it between
different computers without having to change paths and stuff, so I just couldn't help myself.

Mac wrote:
I also compiled a copy without the top line and put it
in the VDS\Tools folder so I can start it from VDS
(without starting VDS again).


Good thinking. That's portable.

Greetz
Dread

_________________
~~ Alcohol and calculus don't mix... Don't drink and derive! ~~

String.DLL * advanced string processing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mac
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 08 Jul 2000
Posts: 1585
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dread wrote:

Do you have ?:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Applications\VDS.EXE\shell\open\command


Nope... Both VDS2.5 and VDS3 are in the registery under SADE.

VDS 2.5 32-bit shows no path except in previously loaded
scripts (History subkey):
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SADE\VDS2.5

VDS 3.5:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SADE\VDS\3.5 "Path"

Perhaps VDS3 would have put its' info elsewhere if I hadn't
had VDS 2.5? I dunno. Maybe it's just a Win95 thing... Confused

Cheers, Mac Smile

_________________
VDSug.dll does file IO, check/disable menu items,
non-VDS dlls, draw functions and more...
Free download (30k dll size) at:
http://www.vdsworld.com/download.php?id=361
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tommy
Admin Team


Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Posts: 737
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easy way is to create an empty .dsc file somewhere and then use:

Code:

shell open,dummy.dsc



Otherwise this will probably work for you too, Mac:

Code:

  %%filetype = .dsc
  %%vds = @regread(root,@regread(root,%%filetype,)\shell\open\command,)
  info %%vds



You will however, probably have to parse out the "%1" parameter from %%vds, or you
won't be able to actually run it.

Tommy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mac
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 08 Jul 2000
Posts: 1585
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Tommy,

This code:
Code:

%%filetype = .dsc
%%vds = @regread(root,@regread(root,%%filetype,)\shell\open\command,)
info %%vds


Returns this in the INFO window:

C:\WIN95\NOTEPAD.EXE %1

Maybe because I have .DSC files associated with Notepad?

Cheers, Mac Smile

_________________
VDSug.dll does file IO, check/disable menu items,
non-VDS dlls, draw functions and more...
Free download (30k dll size) at:
http://www.vdsworld.com/download.php?id=361


Last edited by Mac on Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Tommy
Admin Team


Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Posts: 737
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh you assigned Notepad to editing VDS scripts?! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mac
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 08 Jul 2000
Posts: 1585
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep. It takes VDS too long to load just to view a file... Wink

Cheers, Mac Smile

_________________
VDSug.dll does file IO, check/disable menu items,
non-VDS dlls, draw functions and more...
Free download (30k dll size) at:
http://www.vdsworld.com/download.php?id=361
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1710
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If interested, I think I know how to add buttons to the IE toolbar. Next
to the back forward, ect....I'm going to do a little more research then I'll
post my findings.

_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2144
Location: A House

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm interested if you do make any progress on adding a button. Smile

-Garrett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr. Dread
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2001
Posts: 1065
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aaaah, this is interesting. In a thread just a few days ago there was a link to a Microsoft page describing the procedure
for adding buttons to MSIE (real toolbar buttons).

This raw piece of code should create the actual button. However, if the user has customized the toolbar, the button will
not appear on the toolbar automatically. Must be added manually. Nothing to do about that. AND the button is blank because
it requires a special type of icon file holding several button images (16x16,20x20,16-color,256-color, greyscale).
More info on this here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/browser/ext/overview/toolbar_style.asp
Unfortunately this resource is not very specific on how to construct this type of icon resource, maybe someone here knows?

Greetz
Dread

Code:

  REM This experiment is only possible in MSIE 5 or later
  dialog CREATE,MSIE button installer  .. by Dr. Dread,-1,0,180,120
  dialog ADD,BUTTON,SelDir,10,5,170,,Select EXE file for the button
  dialog ADD,BUTTON,SelIco,35,5,170,,Select mouseover ICO file 20x20
  dialog ADD,BUTTON,SelIco2,60,5,170,,Select mouseout ICO file 20x20
  dialog ADD,BUTTON,Go,90,40,,,Go!
  dialog SHOW

:Evloop
  wait event
  goto @event()

:SelDirBUTTON
  %%EXE = @filedlg("Executable file (*.exe)|*.exe",Select file)
  goto evloop

:SelIcoBUTTON
  %%ICO = @filedlg("Icon file (*.ico)|*.ico",Select file)
  goto evloop

:SelIco2BUTTON
  %%ICO2 = @filedlg("Icon file (*.ico)|*.ico",Select file)
  goto evloop

 
:GoBUTTON
  if @null(%%EXE)
    info Select EXE file!
    goto evloop
  end
  if @null(%%ICO)
    info Select mouseover ICO file!
    goto evloop
  end
  if @null(%%ICO2)
    info Select mouseout ICO file!
    goto evloop
  end

  REM This GUID is generated for this app, so it shouldn't clash with any other button
  REM Only use it for 1 button!
  %%GUID = {4B4EC1C9-BC9B-40AB-BF9D-4A8AC3C6E0C5}
 
REGISTRY WRITE,LOCAL,Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions,%%GUID
REGISTRY WRITE,LOCAL,Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions\%%GUID,Default Visible,YES
REGISTRY WRITE,LOCAL,Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions\%%GUID,ButtonText,VDScopy
REGISTRY WRITE,LOCAL,Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions\%%GUID,HotIcon,%%ICO
REGISTRY WRITE,LOCAL,Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions\%%GUID,Icon,%%ICO2
REGISTRY WRITE,LOCAL,Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions\%%GUID,CLSID,{1FBA04EE-3024-11D2-8F1F-0000F87ABD16}
REGISTRY WRITE,LOCAL,Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions\%%GUID,Exec,%%exe

REM If the user has customized the toolbar, the button will not appear on the toolbar automatically.
REM The toolbar button will be added to the choices in the Customize Toolbar dialog box and can be added here.

:close
exit


EDIT: Update to make it work directly with a couple of 20x20 icons.

_________________
~~ Alcohol and calculus don't mix... Don't drink and derive! ~~

String.DLL * advanced string processing


Last edited by Dr. Dread on Wed Aug 14, 2002 9:37 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Visual DialogScript 3 Source Code All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum




Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group