forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


VDS License
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> General Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 12:52 pm    Post subject: VDS License Reply with quote

I created an app called Self Script that is a VDS interpreter so I can create, edit, and run scripts on the fly w/o compiling. It is A LOT slower and has limitations a but for small apps it works well. Since it looks like CR is not around anymore and VDS is dead would releasing the app be OK? Not going to sell it, just allow others to use it to make quick scripts.

Thoughts?

[EDIT] - After looking at the license it looks like it should be OK. I am not going to sell it and it is not competing with VDS. If anything it will show uses the power of VDS... too bad they cannot buy it anymore.

_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GregLand
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 169
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very good project !
Love it !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll post the DL here for testing a little later if anyone is interested.
_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2148
Location: A House

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be interested. I like the idea of possibly tossing together some quick little script and then simply running it like a batch file. Should be great for like file(copy/move/delete) operations.

Long ago, in an era far far away, I started making a clone of good old MS Batch in VDS. I was about 10% into it before I lost the source code and lost interest in trying to start over with it again. Sad

_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garrett
Moderator Team


Joined: 04 Oct 2001
Posts: 2148
Location: A House

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now if someone could just freakin port VDS over to Linux, I'd be all setup here.
_________________
'What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.' - Confucius (550 b.c. to 479 b.c.)
Necroprogramming FTW! - "Wait.. Is necroprogramming legal?"
http://www.freewarehome.com <-- Freeware listings since 1996
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I'm working out a bug but will try to post a DL today.
_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the DL link to Self Script. It is a self contained EXE file that runs VDS Code. It should work with most of the commands and functions of VDS. Download the RAR file below and extract the Self Script.exe file. If you just double click on the EXE it will run the script contained in the EXE file. If you hold the ESCAPE key on your keyboard when you double click it will open the script for editing. All edits are saved back to the EXE file. You can test your script while editing by pressing F9 and you can nicely format your script by pressing F8. Below is also a script that I wrote to quickly change the extension of a file using the context menu. This code works well with this. Again please be aware that this is not as fast as compiled script as it is reading the code line by line. Have fun and let me know of any issue and what kinds of scripts you come up with that work, I'm excited to see what you come up with.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3e2cjyny1qgm0h4/Self%20Script.rar?dl=0

Code:


  title Change File Extension

  #added to allow for Run Script from within editor.
  if %1
    if @equal(@ext(%1),sns)
      shift
    end
  end
  ##################################################

  if @not(%1)
    #needed to write changes to the registry
    %r = @regread(ROOT,*\shell\Change File Extension\Command)
    if @not(%r)
      if @ask(Add Change File Extension to context menu of files?)
        registry write,ROOT,*\shell\Change Extension\Command,,%0 @chr(34)"%1"@chr(34)
        if @ok()
          info Added to context menu.
          stop
        else
          warn Unable to add to contaxt menu. Try running as admin.
          stop
        end
      else
        stop
      end
    else
      if @not(@equal(%r,%0 @chr(34)%1@chr(34)))
        if @ask(Update Change File Extension path to current location?)
          registry write,ROOT,*\shell\Change Extension\Command,,%0 @chr(34)"%1"@chr(34)
          if @ok()
            info Path updated.
            stop
          else
            warn Unable to update path. Try running as admin.
            stop
          end
        else
          stop
        end
      end
    end
    warn Program is to be used via file context menu.
    stop
  end


  %t = @input(New File Extension:,@ext(%1))
  if @ok()
    if %t
      file rename,%1,@path(%1)\@name(%1).%t
    end
  end
  stop

_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GregLand
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 169
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Nice !!! Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Just a problem
The exe can't compile script after modification with the killme.bat.

In the killme.bat file
You should put in the 2nd and 3rd and 7th line the path between " "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im not sure i understand. its not saving the text back to the exe after you change it?
_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GregLand
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 169
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exact...
I must edit the killme.bat file and add " " for all filenames / path then run killme.bat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok ill fix that either later tonight or tomorrow
_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, updated to v1.0.0.1

- Added "" around the paths in the BATch file. Lines 2,3, and 7

Thanks GregLand Smile

Download - https://www.dropbox.com/s/3e2cjyny1qgm0h4/Self%20Script.rar?dl=0

_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GregLand
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 169
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is really a fast and convenient program to design VDS application ...
I love it!
But how did you do ?
It was programmed in VDS ?


The v1.0.0.1 version work great ! Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LiquidCode
Moderator Team


Joined: 05 Dec 2000
Posts: 1723
Location: Space and Time

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep completely in VDS 6. I'm still working on it as not all the commands/functions are available... and not all will be available.

All compiler directives will not work so you can't define your own commands/functions or add resources. You need to use List Create to create lists as @new() will not work... BUT you can create more than 32 lists (up to 99 not sure why you would need more, but...). Try this,

Code:

list create,50
list add,50,test
info @text(50)


Write/writeline commands/functions are unavailable but I am going to try to add them.

I'll post the updates as I have them. I am trying to keep the main EXE file as small as I can but as I add more commands/functions it will get bigger. I am also thinking about making one that will use an external editor instead of a built-in one to also make the EXE size smaller, not sure yet.

_________________
Chris
Http://vdsfreak.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GregLand
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 169
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks for the information.
Do you think it's possible to add a dialog create command, because I thing it should be useful to have the taskicon object.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> General Help All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum




Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group