forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index forum.vdsworld.com
Visit VDSWORLD.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


error reporting

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Wish List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:02 am    Post subject: error reporting Reply with quote

i came across an annoying problem with the current error reporting thingy of vds 5, if an error occurs in the code of a user defined command, then vds reports an error at the line that contains the command and not at the line where the error actually occured within the code of the command - does that make sense?

this makes it very hard to troubleshoot when a user reports an error XXX at line XXX because it is the line of the user defined command

could that be fixed for vds 6?

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
jules
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2001
Posts: 1043
Location: Cumbria, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is by design. The idea is that a user defined command or function is a "black box" and the error is returned at the point the command or function is used, just as if it was an internal command or function. Bearing in mind that the command or function could be in a .DSU, the source code may not be available to the application programmer.

When programming a command or function you should use OPTION ERRORTRAP or test the value of @OK() to trap any errors that occur, and then use the ERROR command to return a user-defined error code that describes the problem.

_________________
The Tech Pro
www.tech-pro.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Serge
Professional Member
Professional Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2002
Posts: 1480
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i understand now about how it can't be done any other way, thanks jules

serge

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
jwfv
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor


Joined: 19 Mar 2002
Posts: 422
Location: Beaufort, SC

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been frustrated by this behavior also, but I understand Jules' response.

Is there the possibility of having VDS return the actual line of code that caused the error? That would be extremely helpful because in 90% of the cases it would tell me exactly what was causing the problem. It would give me a head start when looking through the code, especially when there are multiple copies of my (continually evolving) software out there. Currently I need to keep a separate copy of the code after each update or bug fix so I can track it by line number.

_________________
Joe Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forum.vdsworld.com Forum Index -> Wish List All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum




Twitter@vdsworld       RSS

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group